There are many English language exams available to test your proficiency, however the Common European Framework (CEFR) has been designed to help you master your English skills no matter what level you are.

The CEFR has six levels of English ranging from basic to proficient, with an exam designed to chart your progress as you master new skills. The rubric has been designed with exams of varying difficulty throughout your language learning so that you can identify both your strengths and weaknesses, know where you need to focus your studies, and to determine if you are ready to progress to the next level.

English Language Exams for the CEFR

Cambridge ESOL has designed the following exams to correspond with the Common European Framework:

Exam Level
KET: Key English Test The KET is for those who have a basic understanding at an A2 level
PET: Preliminary English Test The PET is for intermediate students at level B1
FCE: First Certificate in English The FCE tests the upper intermediate level students at level B2
CAE: Certificate in Advanced English The CAE tests the advanced C1 level
CPE: Certificate of Proficiency in English The CPE tests those at the most advanced level at C2

Similar English Language Exams


Many exams have been developed to correspond to the CEFR. Take for example the IELTS, which has developed a scale that directly corresponds to the Common European Framework. While the IELTS grading scale does not exactly match the six level Common European Framework, it does use a broader proficiency spectrum where test takers can identify which level learners fall under for the Common European Framework.


There are also more specialized professional certificates that are in the B2-C1 range that test both International Legal English Certificate (ILEC) and International Certificate in Financial English (ICFE).

Subscribe to newsletter

Stay up to date with the latest information